Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Remington 11-87 and 18" barrel

check six

I'm new to 3-gun having shot only 5 matches. I'm shooting Limited with a G35 and a V3 Weaver scope on an AR15. The shotgun issue has been trying. I'm now using the 11-87 with the 18" barrel and need to have the barrel threaded for Remchoke and a new sight for the front end; but prior to more investment, I was hoping for a little advice from this group. I used the 11-87 Saturday and it shot everything: slugs and #6 Remington Shurshot heavy dove loads. The gun cycled fine, although my score for six slug rounds at 85 yards was a dismal 1 of 6. Most of the group uses anywhere from 26" to 22" barrels. In your experience is the 18" barrel just a more difficult gun to shoot? and is there any opinion on rifled barrels such as the Hastings 24" fully rifled? Thanks for your assistance.

You can probably find a used 1187 barrel with Rem chokes for about the same price as having your barrel done. I have tried the Hastings barrels and can't really see any difference. Try different brands of slugs to see what the gun likes. My preferrence would be a 24" barrel.

You dont want a rifled barrel for 3 gun?? You still have to shot birdshot??

Have you gone to the range and benched your gun with slugs? Your barrel could be

just fine but your point of impact might just be really high or low(funny thing with slugs)..

Most important thing with shooting slugs is to know your guns zeros 15-100yd,

A barrel with chokes may give you a tighter slug group with a certain choke but its not absolute..

I shot an 870 with smooth 18" barrel for a long time in 3gun and everything worked fine. Youll find

if you use higher velocity slugs they fly flatter and your poa is less variable but they have a sting to the shoulder.

Reduced recoil slugs are great but they have to be lobbed in like a mortar in an arch. If you learn your zeros youll

be fine....