Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Lighter guns faster? Slower?

Mark K

If this has been beaten to death here, just point me to the thread.

I started shooting USPSA late last year, and am totally hooked, shooting 2 USPSA and one IDPA match a month. I started with a LDA Para 18-9 in Limited/Minor so I could use the higher cap mags. I also shot it SSP and ESP (after adding a larger mag well) in IDPA. Then as I got more serious, I bought a Lightly used SVI Limited gun in 40S&W from a shooting buddy, so I could shoot Major. I sent the Para to Bill VanFossan for a trigger job, etc, and started shooting my Taurus 24/7 in the IDPA matches while it was in the shop, and was surprised at how good the gun control felt. I can't say I shot better, but that gun is not nearly as accurate at the longer distances.

This last weekend one of the guys at the local USPSA match had a newly built S&J Glock Limited gun, and it felt Sweet. I don't like even well worked Glock triggers, but the gun was light forward of the trigger, and that felt great.

I know that there are probably many schools of thought on the subject and I would like to hear some views. I spent many years shooting rifle with the Marksmanship Unit, and there, heavy is good. With a rifle you are trying to stay still, and the weight inhibits movement.

I don't plan on selling the SV, but I might consider having the slide lightened and if I ever considered shooting Open, a lighter front-end gun might be a consideration.

I'm just wondering.

Mark K.