Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Been thinking about this for a while now and have decided to go ahead and acquire one. To be used for hogs, targets, truck gun (retired the 760 Whelen). Thinking of short barrel, 16 or 18", but am dumb about twist and what would be better, complete rifle from someone or separate top and bottom...Not going to reload initially so 55 gr is as heavy as I would shoot...any advantage to getting a 223 and a separate top for 7.62x39 or 6.8 and which one or the two would be better?

Also, what kind and power of scope is recommended thinking of ACOG.

Thanks

Tloop

Just my two cents... a flat-top M4 clone from any of the majors is a pretty good starting point. I have a Bushmaster with a 16" bbl and their "mini-Y" comp, and it is a great little rifle, for not a lot of money.

I stuck a railmount Cmore on top, co-witnessed with the irons as a backup and it is easily "enough sight" to get out to 250 yard gongs, even with my bad eyes. Beyond that, there are all kinds of opinions (check out the threads on "which scope for 3-gun). My personal choice is the Meopta, ymmv.

B

Truck Gun?

Go with the folding stock - which means a piston upper. 16 inch 1:9 twist

is the most common out there.

ARFCOM has more posers than answers, but you should be able to wade through

the B.S. without too much difficulty. Fixed 4X works pretty darn good.

Bring the subject up at the next match and I think you'll be surprised how many of your

fellow shooters believe in the EBR.

One more thing TL, welcome to the fold :ph34r:

Truck Gun?

Go with the folding stock - which means a piston upper. 16 inch 1:9 twist

is the most common out there.

ARFCOM has more posers than answers, but you should be able to wade through

the B.S. without too much difficulty. Fixed 4X works pretty darn good.

Bring the subject up at the next match and I think you'll be surprised how many of your

fellow shooters believe in the EBR.

One more thing TL, welcome to the fold :ph34r: