Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Sti Mags

I have three brand new STI 140mm, .40 mags. They are extremely diffucult to load after about 13 rounds and getting to 16 is almost impossible.

I am using STI followers, Wolf springs, and Dawson base pads. A friend brought his STI mags over, and they are the same way.

It is not a spring issue his springs have been clip.

What is the deal? Anybody else experience this issue with STI mags. I tried out some SV and there were no problems loading to 18 rounds. I am really new at the Limited game so this is really perplexing.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

mine get kinda tuff around 16 too, but with a little thumb grease they fit 18-19, and my mag set up is just like yours, with the exception of mag tuning by the wonderfu folks at dawson precision B) . i love my mags :wub: it's too bad i had to have them modified for L-10. :(

Mistral404,

if you get the Gram's Engineeing basepad, spring and follower, you can get 20 rounds in your sti mag. no modificatons required. the 20th round is a little tough to get in, but not much.

i put the system on my open 170mm sti 38 super mag and i get 29 rounds. :D

good luck,

lynn jones

The STI mags are brand new.

The followers do not have the groove in them, they are rather smooth. [The mag that came with my short block kit has a groove in it]

The springs have been cut down to about two coils exposed with the base pads off. The Dawson base pads are 1 extra in black.

The SV mags I looked at do not have the same problem. So I thought it was an STI issue with being diffucult to load past 15 or so.

megaman: why do your mags have to be modified for L10? I thought you could just not load them to 11 rounds and be ok???

Mistral404,

he lives in hawaii, state law 10 rounds only.

one note about your magazines. if you polish the inside of each mag, then lube with some silicon spray this might help your thumb out. :o

lynn jones

Hi Mistral404.