Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Tigger Pull Weight And Non Federal Primers 625-8

41mag

As many of you know I am new to this game. I am having a blast with the wheel gun.

I thank all of you here for the help and information you have given me.

I cut about two coils off the rebound and bent the main spring to produce a 7lb pull with the strain screw fully seated. This works great with Federal primers. Now I can't get any Federals :( . Set up this way it won't light the CCI primers. If I install a spent primer under the strain screw for a 9lb pull it will. I could get used to the 9lb pull I suppose but right now I don't like it.

I know my trigger job is rudimentary at best and was wondering if I could improve on it in such a way as to have a 7lb pull that would light some other primer besides the Federal.

I have been putting off the task of Carmonizing the hammer. If I was to lighten the hammer in that fashion how much lower could the spring weight be for reliable ignition?

Another words would I be able to lower the trigger pull from 9lbs to ? and light the CCI primers? (with the lighter hammer).

Will polishing anything (like rebound slide) on the inside help much with pull weight?

I think in the future I would like to have someone (Randy Lee) tune my gun for a light action that will light every thing. This Federal primer crunch is nuts.

Revolver shooters must be a very small niche in the scheme of things or you would think another manufacture would give Federal some competion. I could see CCI producing softer cups and marketing them to us roundgun shooters.

Well I better go start my new exercise program (dry fire with 9lb trigger), got to get in shape.

Thanks for your time and advise.

41mag

• Replies 138
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images