Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Having Trouble With Eratic Powder Throws (using Clays)

Gti18T

I just got my .45 setup going on my 650 and i'm having a major problem throwing clays. I can't seem to get an equal throws each time. If i understand correctly, clays will probably throw +/- .1 grain due to it being flakes and such. I am able to get like 4.2-4.4 consistantly.

I came back later this evening to load some more and my first throw was a 4.9! Good thing i measured it.

My question is do you guys get throws like this with clays or is yours dead on every time? Do you get major changes in the first throw each time you sit down at your press and have to recalibrate your throws?

I was just getting extremly frusterated. I spent more time adjusting the powder measurer than actually loading tonight.

Thanks

Dan

Wow half a grain is a bunch, I have been using dillon stuff for many years and commonly see .2 max variation with many many different powders.

I am sure many other people on this forum also have untold amounts of experience and will chime in . hope you fix it!

Jim

how do you go about calibrating your powder charge? I'll throw a minimum of 20 charges before i start the weighing process. when i do weigh, i'll weigh 4 charges for an average (i use a 45 colt case to get all 4 throws in).

Edited by yoshidaex

i try for 4.2 +/- 0.1 grains of clays. After I throw 20, measure 4 throws to get an average, and i get close to my desired charge, i don't touch the powder measure AT ALL. If i do touch it, i'll check that specific case to verify the throw is within spec. I'm sure just a slight touch won't make the powder measure go out of whack (the machine is constantly moving when you're cycling the machine), but if i bump the powder measure by accident, i always check that throw.

Edited by yoshidaex

You will want to keep the measure half full or more with Clays too, it helps a little bit.