Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Five Inch Barrel In Idpa ?

Timpe

I'm new to IDPA actually I stoped by the first major shoot in Jefferson City Mo. a few years back to Observe looked very challenging. At the time I was tied up in IPSIC. I,m trying to sell a S&W and was in negociations but it went south because the pistol has a five inch barrel. What is the guideline for barrel length in IDPA?

Thanks Timpe

4 inches

Thanks Mr. Walsh now that same length requirement doesn't apply to IPSC or ICORE does it?

Timpe

Nope, they are still legal in USPSA and ICORE. IDPA banned the 5 inch barreled revolves about 5 years ago since they were not 'pratical'.

IDPA banned the 5 inch barreled revolves about 5 years ago since they were not 'practical'.

And too many shooters with 5" guns were showing up, kicking a$$ and taking names! That's how they got rid of those. <_<

Thanks agin! To bad about such a narrow minded ruling. Seems to me there are a few five inch government models in that game . Oh well I'll stick with IPSC.

Timpe

Edited by Timpe

Thanks agin! To bad about such a narrow minded ruling. Seems to me there are a few five inch government models in that game . Oh well I'll stick with IPSC.

Timpe

That not an apples to apples comparison. The barrel of a 5" semi-auto includes the chamber while the barrel of a 5" revolver does not.

Timpe

That not an apples to apples comparison. The barrel of a 5" semi-auto includes the chamber while the barrel of a 5" revolver does not.

Ok I'll play, and what is the difference in overall length between a 5" 1911 and a 5" 625?

Hint: one of them has a 1/2" longer sight radius.

Double hint: it ain't the revolver. :rolleyes:

Thought the reason for the 5" guns being taken out was "Wilson wasn't making them"! He runs the game, and if you aren't buying his equipment, your not welcome....

Just the way I was treated when I attended a local IDPA match. They wouldn' even let me shoot for fun(no score). What the heck, it's my CW gun?