Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Indoor Use Chronograph Purchase

Lets start with I have never used a chronograph before. I don't know how close I have it when testing 9mm loads, or if the lights I have in my range will work. My private local range has small spot lights ligting the bench and the 10ft spot (as well as the others out to 50ft). If I turn them all on it's fairly bright for a indoor range. I am often the only shooter as well, so I can turn 5 lanes on at once if I like. Will a standard chronograph even work in such a setting? How close is the sensing unit to my gun. Should I get the IR version (which I don't want to spend the extra if I don't have to). I don't want to waste my money as this is my only place to shoot/chronograph at this time. What Chronograph would you recommend in the 100 range (more if IR I guess).

Edited by 98sr20ve

The only way I have been able to chrono indoors is with one of those real bright halogen garage lights sitting beside the chrono on a table aiming up at the screens. Takes a little playing with to work.

In the past I have used 2 garage "trouble" regular lights and they stink but can work if practically taped to the screens.

I don't think standard range lighting has a chance especially fluorescent also you must put the unit downrange a few feet.

IR is the best but you dont have a lot of choices.

Making a chrono box with a built in light and say a Prochrono might be a solution but I bet it cost more than a IR. Competition Electronics Prochrono does have a light setup pretty cheap. I think Chrony has a light version too.

Edited by BSeevers

Chrony has a light setup but the Chrony is such a POS that you would be better off saving up your money and buying a CED. Yes it's not in the budget but it's worth saving for. You won't have to buy another one when it fails.

I have a Chrony in my basement with a lighting setup. The factory won't fix it and it reads 50-60fps high. It did work inside, but who cares if it's wrong.