Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

The Fish

Catfish

I've debated whether or not to post out my range diary - and what the hell - here goes!!

Some history:

I started shooting IDPA in 1999 - made 3 gun Master within a coupla of years. Just about the time I was looking for another challenge, the rule changes came about and I decided that USPSA looked really appealing! Started shooting USPSA, classified as a B, then fairly quickly made A class, this would be October of '05.

My goal is to be a competitive GM.

'06 was a good, yet frustrating year for my shooting. I improved substantially. Took a class from Max and Travis and really started to see things. My match finishes at local matches have me either just barely beating, or just barely getting beaten by our local GMs. Best match I shot all year was Texas Limited, where I finished 16th. And I shot a very very good match for me - I was pleased.

However, whenever I'd get to classifiers I would give the targets more value than what they were worth and as a result I tanked a helluva lot of classifiers. I was as high as 83.xx% in Limited, and I think I'm still in the top 20 A class in Limited 10. My match performances are telling me that I'm shooting a pretty solid M class peformance, but the classifiers are just kicking my ass.

So, goal #1 for '07 is to just shoot the damn classifiers like they are any other stage.

Goal #2 is to work on my stage strategy. I was pretty close to the big dogs at the Texas Limited last year in most of the stages. There were a handful of stages where I flat got my ass kicked. Watching how "they" shot those stages showed me why - they shot the stages completely different than my plan. And obviously, their plan was better! So, goal #2 is to really look at how best to attack a stage and not to get caught in the trap of doing it just like everyone else.