Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Are .357 Loads In Ssr An Acceptable Idea?

Fuzly

Hi all,

I am new to IDPA but wish I would have went to a match several years ago. It is a lot of fun.

I am classifed in SSP but I have a very nice older S&W 686 I would like to try at a match. This gun is loaded with a quality 110 or 125 JHP load when at home. I would like to try a handload with a 125 grain bullet around 1100 fps to get something close to my home defense load without beating me up. Is this reasonable? Does anybody else ever shoot a match with something close to his/her defense load?

Or should I think of an IDPA match as something different? It sounds like 158 grain .38 +P is what most use in this division; round nose to facilitate easier speedloading.

Fuzly Fuzly Fuzly...... ;)

There are two distinct camps on this. I am sure you will be hearing from both. :D

I would use the load that was the most comfortable (least powerful) to shoot while remaining legal for my class/division. Less wear on tear on me and on the equipment.

.02 from me. :)

In answer to your question, yes. There is nothing wrong with shooting your defense load or something similar in an IDPA match. You will get some shock and awe at even a low end .357 Magnum, but heck, I did just by shooting 9mm loaded with Power Pistol which has a lot of blast and flash for that calibre.

It just depends on whether you are out for the best score or some experience with your self defense weapon.

Edited by Jim Watson

I think the only factory .38 Special ammo that will make the 125 power factor is speer (lawman??) in the blue and yellow boxes.

If you're shooting .38 Special brass, then your only other option is to handload your own ammo.

As far as .357 Magnum goes, I don't know. Wouldn't even have a clue.