Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New Member Been Away From Shooting 17 Years

GentlemanJim

Hello

I just started shooting again about a month ago, went to a match with my old gun had a good time and got whipped real good!!

Seems 10rnds in an open gun just dont cut it.

:blink: So I bought a new STI TRUBOR and stuff..$$$$ If I just cut back on that food thing it will be ok.

AS with any new toy this one has its little problems .

I will need some good advice tuning this gun I like it but I have a lot to learn.

Thanks Jim

Welcome to the Forums, Jim.

Specific questions will get you the answers. :)

Thanks Merlin!

I have worked out most of the bugs , but the slide slow cycles .

If the gun is HOT it runs great but if it gets cold it jams alot!!

I am using real thin lube and the gun likes alot of it, too dry it jams.

I have stoned all the usual suspects ,leading edge of breach ,bottom of slide,guide rod ect.

The gun has about 2500rnds on it and has not realy improved.

I have a match this saturday and its going to be very cold ,this gun just wont run cold!

Insanity is closing in on me :wacko: .

any ideas would help

Jim

Kinda hard for me to diagnose without actually seeing your pistol. I would guess it's a lub problem if it runs when it's hot. You could try an eight pound or nine pound recoil spring. Sometimes it takes over 2500 rounds to fully break in a tight open pistol. Mine took around 4k. :o

What exactly is it not doing? Failure to feed or eject?

I don't think it's spring related, but I thought I'd ask and it sounds like you have a common working setup.

The cold/hot difference really points to a lube issue, but it could also be a clean vs. dirty problem. Does the gun run while cold but dirty? Something to check, it doesn't make much sense to me though.