Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

From Glock To 1911 Change

John K

I have been shooting a G17 for a few years now in IDPA and at the local steel match. I recently got a Kimber 1911, and boy is it different.

What tips are there for making the jump to the 1911. The 2 guns are so different. I have noticed that when shooting on the move, the glock was more stable. Witht the 1911 I see the front sight dip more when moving. Triggers are like night and day. I know exactly where the reset point is on my G 17. The 1911 trigger is so different.

If anyone can offer some tips to help along the way it would be appreiciated.

happy New Year!

John

Edited by John K

Obviously, lots of practice will reorient you to the new heater. Dryfire drills will help you reindex your sights without a lot of rounds fired. Steve Anderson authors a dryfire drills book that's wonderful.

Don't disable the thumb safety until the muzzle is downrange. I see a lot of 1911 shooters disable the safety when the muzzle is still clearing leather, there's plenty of time between the holster and target to thumb-off the safety.

Just to add to the safety issue; the thumb safety is an excellent END point for the grip. Speed and consistency comes from hitting the grip properly with the palm and the middle-ring fingers. They take it out of the holster, the little finger gets on board, then the weak hand. For my money, the thumb coming down and establishing itself last is both the most logical and safest way to get a grip on any gun, including Glocks. Invariably if my thumb gets involved first, it twists the gun around and my grip is shot from the get-go.

As for getting used to it, you've just gone from three pounds of staging pressure to less than a pound. Try the trick of dryfiring, pinning the trigger, then working the slide with your weak hand. Release the trigger, and feel the reset happen. It won't take long to get used to. The different grip angle, however . . .

H.