Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

For The Guitar Players (and Wannabe's) In The Forum

bierman

I have been listening to this guy since 1999 and have been spreading the word about his talent to anyone who will listen. I did not realize until today that some of his music is on YouTube. If you play the guitar and really don't want to feel like you suck, don't click on this link.

Monte Montgomery

Hope you all enjoyed this.

• Replies 86
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Nice pickin' there.

Been listening to old Steve Morse Band cuts myself lately. That guy still blows me away and the last time I saw him play live was in 1985!

BTW, I am a bass player, which I guess qualifies.

Victor has some very nice bass chops. Interesting strumming method when he finger-pops, kinda' Flamenco like.

Anyone ever seen Jaco do his acapella bass solo's when he was still alive? Similar level of musicality with a real wild side to the ride to boot. I remember watching Jaco pluck out the Star Spangled Banner in screaming feedback with his teeth ala' Hendrix on my 64 J-Bass in front of a pretty stunned crowd (and Stanley Clarke) back in the day. I know very well what bass players with this level of ability can do. Guitarists don't always get centerstage, nor do they always deserve it ;-)

Flex,

Yeah, seeing the Black Betty video kinda opened my eyes to what else might be available on YouTube. One quick search later I was having to dig out the external speakers for my laptop and jamming to my favorite guitar player. The Internet is a pretty amazing place when you really think about it.

In 1990 when I moved from San Francisco to Austin, I got a job working with a guy named Dave. Now, Dave kept telling me about his brother and what a great band he had and that I really had to go check him out. I said "sure that would be great" but knowing that it was going to be some horrific garage band and I'd have to stand there and smile and lie and say "yeah, they're terrific".