Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

9mm open major going to be legal?

sfinney

I understand from various people and the latest "Front Sight" that 9mm Open Major may become officially legal soon.... I don't have anything specifically against it (in fact it will probably convert over some Production shooters who want to scope their Glocks, etc).

But why is everyone so worked up about it (besides Glock shooters)? Sure, the brass is cheaper, but as far as performance, aren't you just going to end up loading to @1.250, driving a 124 gr bullet to 165 PF +? I'm not a rocket scientist, but it seems like the load would feel about the same as current .38 loads?

I here of guys building up new 9mm guns on STI/SV frames, or changing barrels - are you really gaining that much, or is it that its just "new"?

I'm going to keep shooting .38 Super. Once I wear it out I'll consider rebarrelling in 9x19 for cheaper brass.

I see it mainly benefitting small-frame/small-magazine guns like most of the 9mm and .40s out there that can't run much beyond 1.13" OAL. Glocks, Tanfoglios, etc.

Maybe our European and other members can tell us what guns people are shooting 9x19 Major through. Are people with STI, SV, SPS, and Bul M5 guns shooting Super-sized cartridges regardless?

Quote: from warpspeed on 10:52 pm on Feb. 28, 2002

A 165PF loads shoots just as flat as 130. Doesn't it?

No.