Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

40 Cal Open Gun

Calamity Jane

I'm trying to get into the Open game. I want to shoot open to improve skills for my limited shooting. I want to shoot the dot to learn speed, quicker transitions etc. Plus have a whole bunch of fun. I'm considering building. As you know building requires TIME and PATIENCE. I'm not very good with either.

Why can't I stick a CMore scope and a comp on the end of my STI 40 cal limited gun and call it a day???

Edited by Calamity Jane

No reason at all, In fact why not just put a C-more and be done with it? Most of what you want to learn from open has to do with the sighting not recoil. If you're not worried about being competitive and are using it as a learning experience, drill for a mount and go for it.

Besides if you get a full on .38/9mm top end and C-more, you'll enjoy it so much you won't want to go back to Limited :D

IMO you'll be giving up round count to the 9mm/38 super shooters. and in the long run you'll end up spending more money if you go the open 40 route and decide down the road you want to switch to .355/.356 open. just dive right in :D . Like Pat said, i'm sure you'll enjoy it. I'm still holding out until the bitter end............well at least till i get classified in Limited <_< .

Jane,

Due to various reasons, I run an open .40. .40 Open has been discussed in the following threads (and probably others):

http://www.brianenos.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=28666

http://www.brianenos.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=28747

http://www.brianenos.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=25644

As you will see the big limitations are round count in the mags and choice of projectiles. The good side is you don't have invest in all new mags and all the stuff for you reloading press. Beven Grams made master shooting .40 so, you might not win the nats but it may take a while to get to the point where the gun is the only problem.