Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

06 Ct State Championship

Dennis Sherman

I started shooting IDPA in the summer of 99. I made it as far as SSR EX before stepping back from state type matches due to family/work obligations in 02. So, as my revolver is being out for refinish, I dusted off my 1911 and headed out to CT today to see some familiar faces and have some fun. Fun it was. I shot as well as I expected, and if you do not practice you will not maintain speed or accuracy you once had. The staff of the match were very friendly and should be commended for thier effort. As a former IDPA director and RO, I can tell you its a thankless job. Out of the 10 stages, 7-8 were very well designed and quite practical. I seen first hand where the Match Director went out of his way to step in and try to solve a few problems in my squad. The only thing I see that has changed is the lower round count. State matches used to be more in the 175-200 round count. I also noticed that they stuck pretty hard to the 18 round max on most of the stages along with downloading in one or two. But all things considered, it was a good time and I wish them all the best for keeping it going. IDPA is dead in the Albany/Saratoga area where I live, but it is alive and well in New England.

Edited by Dennis Sherman

We shot Sat afternoon. I agree with you 100% about no practice. The last match I shot before this was the S&W Winter Championships.

I thoroughly enjoyed the CT match. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The stages were well put together, and the ROs were fantastic.

Bravo Zulu !!

I shot it Sat AM and had a really good time. This is my second year shooting it and it was as much fun this year as it was last. I didn't catch any breaks so it was frustrating from that standpoint but all in all it was still a lot of fun.