Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Recoil Spring Weight For 165-170pf In 45acp

alzo

I am working up a new (for me) load with 230gr Zero JHP's and N310 for use in USPSA Single Stack. Power factor will be 165-170, more likely 168-170. Is a lighter recoil spring called for with this type of load ? I have seen some recommendations for a 14lb spring.

I have no experience with lighter loads like this. I am used to standard hardball equivalent ammo and an 18.5lb spring.

I run a 14 most of the time, played with a 12 and it shows real promise but 14 works every time on time. I have a hard time messing with what I am used to when it works well.

Whether I run a buffer or not tends to hinge on what sort of mood I was in last time I had the gun apart. I certainly don't think they are needed with a 14 pound spring and the load you propose.

I only load my .45s now with 4.0 grains of Clays under the Precision Bullets 230 gr round nose. I get about 775 fps depending on the gun and have used an ISMI 16# spring with this combo for years...

Mick

A27257

Buy several and see which one suits your style. I run an 11# spring in my Kimber. A 12.5 works for me also. Remember, the lighter you go the more accurate the feed cycle has to be. A heavy spring will mask feed problems.

One method to try is to buy a spring pack (like the Wolff product) that comes with one each of a range of weights.

Put a new shock buff in your gun.

Start at one step below where you are now and try to do you best double tap. Note the distance between the holes.

Step down one spring and repeat the process.

Find the spring that gives the best (smallest) spread.

Put another new shock buff in and go to a match. Inspect the buff after every stage.

Find the balance you like best. In my hand a 9 lb spring in my .40 gives the best double tap, but the buffs won't make it through some long stages.