Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What's Involved To Switching My Rifle From Tactical To Open?

PistolPete

I started shooting open this year with my Brazos gun and absolutely love it. Since I enjoy open pistol so much I've decided to switch all my gear over to the open division. I have a JP CTR-02 AR15 that has a scope on top with a tactical backup sight for close range. I was thinking the only thing I would need to change on this rifle would be the scope. I was looking at the JP/Acog scope that includes the J point optic and an Acog scope. Would this be a good setup or should I look at something else? If I go this route should I remove the tactical sight or keep it on?

Here is my current rifle setup:

Riflenew002.jpg

Let me know what you recommend to bringing this guy into the open division. Should I invest in a drum mag?

Thanks,

Pete

ps. See my shotgun post for tips on that gun as well

Pete,

Look at the rule book....see what's allowed.....determine what you want to add. The biggest change will be the addition of another optic, and a bipod. Take a look at Mark Mazzotta's AR at the Area 7 3 gun. He has a C-More added to the top of his scope, and a bipod. Otherwise it's virtually the same gun I use.

That's good to know. I already have a bipod for this gun. When I built this gun I wasn't sure which optic I wanted and didn't want to spend $1000+ and end up buying the wrong optic. The Simmons scope is decent but I def. want something better. It's sad to put a $100 scope on a $3000 rifle. I'm hoping to check out other scopes next weekend at the Area 7 3 gun and make a decision from that on a scope.

Pete