Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What's The Call?

Sam38

Here's the situation: Competitor is shooting two speed shoots one after the other. Competitior finishes first speed shoots, locks his gun in the holster and, while remaining 'hot' walks, under the supervision of the RO, to the next stage. The competitor assumes the ready position and tries to draw his gun. But it's a no go as the gun is still locked in holster. Competitor stops* and asks for a reshoot as he (actually his equipment) was not in the ready position.

Whats the call, reshoot granted or not granted?

* Competitor is not the brightest bulb on the tree. You should never stop yourself, other than for a safety violation.

I would think that if the RO asked "are you ready?" and the guy did not say no, the timer keeps running! No way it is a reshoot. AFAIK, a race holster "wedgie" in not grounds for a reshoot. I have some personal experience in this area :( .

Later,

Chuck

Edited by ChuckS

If the shooter says yes to the question "are you ready?" then no reshoot. It is not considered an equipment failure. The race holster performed exactly as it should. It retained the gun.

New shooter? Old Shooter, maybe experiencing a bit of fade?

At a major, definatetly "Sorry, score what there is" At a club match, rules aside, one has to consider the above possibilities. Since it is a second start and not a reload problem or some other after the start situatin, afterall he could not draw his gun. I would probably restart him.

This has happened to me, no excuse, the world's greatest "Atomic Wedgie" I was not resarted and did not even think to request one, It was my own brain fade on a 90 degree day after a 4 hour drive to the match.

So, Is a restart supported by the rules? No, it is not. And as the rules currently stand, the RO could not even tell the shooter that his holster was locked had he noticied it.

In truth, it is one of those things that we would do on a case by case basis, contrary to the rules.