Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What Defines A Full Open Pistol And What Would You Call This?

half inch groups

obviously I'm a total noob so please bare with me! :huh: As I mentioned before, I am just getting my feet wet shooting steel and learning more about ipsc. I came across this "factory" springfield custom shop 10th aniversary steel challenge commemorative pistol. it is #6 of what was supposed to be 500 limited editions. I heard it was more like #6 of 10 from the soon to be previous owner. Aside from a Cmore and a few other mods, the gun is compensated, trigger and barrel have been "worked" it has a dual ambi safety and an enlarged mag release, as well as bomar sites and beveled magwell. The gun is unfired and is almost 30 years old now. I'm sure it could use a wider well and since I'm a lefty, I probably need to move the mag release to the other side. I will probably also parkerize the top slide to reduce glare as well. is this a stocker, or open? I'm a little confused because it's factory compensated, and been through the springfeild custom shop before it left the factory. Any help would be mucho appreciated! thank you! heres some pics:

post-8838-1155971471.jpg

post-8838-1155971531.jpg

post-8838-1155971554.jpg

post-8838-1155971584.jpg

Its an open gun, factory or not it has a comp, but it is not competive, either in IPSC or Steel. Its pretty but time has passed it by. That is a perfect example of a early open gun(really when that gun was the hot setup there was no open or limited, there was just shootin). I believe guns should be shot, but I might make an exception for that one. Please dont go changeing or hacking on that gun, It should stay just as it is for another 30 years. Just the way I feel but I bet a lot of folks will agree with me.------Larry