Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Double Taps With A Shotgun?

Sorry to ask an a greenhorn question, but I am new to shotgun compitition (but not new to shotguns) Is there even such a thing as a "double tap" in a shotgun match? If there is not, it would seem to narrow the advantage autos have over pumps somewhat in the limited class.

To me, shooting a pump is sorta akin to driving a stick shift where as shooting an auto is like driving a car with an automatic transmission. Sure it's faster, but the interaction between man and machine is missing. I'm sure the sports car buffs know what I mean.

OS

Unless a slug stage requires two hits per target at close range, or a piece of falling steel is a little heavy and you decide to whack it twice real fast, it ain't gonna' be a very important thing in the scheme of things.

I have come across both situations maybe a couple times in over 15 years. Nope, not a big thing to think about.

I agree with George that it isn't a big issue, certainly not over a whole match but pumps usually run slower that semi-autos on target arrays. I say the gun runs slower whereas of course I mean the shooter can't usually run them as quick. Having said that, I've seen some VERY quick shooters with a pump gun who out-shoot guys with semis.

I've seen a fair number of occasions where there has been a opportunity to double tap a target. The 2003 European Shotgun Championships featured a significant amount of slugs and most targets required 2 hits. Many of these could be double-tapped. Slightly over 50% of the match was slugs, amounting to approx 120 rounds over 10/11 stages.

On the other hand the 2006 Europeans, being held next month in Greece, only has a single target requiring 2 slug hits. All other slug targets only require a single hit.

In the UK, and from reviewing many IPSC Level III matches from around the world, I can report that there are a number of stages in matches that require 2 slug hits per target.