Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Rifled Screw In Choke - All Purpose?

HarryO45

First of all – I do realize that the “Choke Topic” on this and other forums is “wore out”…but I believe after searching this and other sites that this is a unique question.

I also want to say that I am not experienced with a shotgun – I am new to three gun – and have only done it once – with a borrowed shotgun. I liked the sport and building my 1100 now!

This is my question…Could a screwed in Rifled Choke System be used effectively in all Three Gun shotgun scenarios?

Some background and thoughts

I decided to go with a 21 “deer barrel” with iron sights (it has remchoke).

I do not want to “have to” change chokes between events.

The three gun event that I attended required slug shots out to at least 55 – 70 yards. Lots of misses by experienced “Three Gunners” – they were blaming their chokes.

These are my observations and thoughts:

1. A rifled choke is the best choke to have for longer range targets where slugs are required.

2. The majority of the other targets in the events stages requiring shotgun were “close in targets” within 15-25 yards (most people using light bird shot). So if the targets are that close is a rifled choke going to mess up the performance of the bird shots pattern? I guess this is really my main question.

3. Will bird shot fired through a rifled choke deform the birdshot to the point that it will fly erratically? Will wad protect the shot from the rifling?

4. How does rifling affect a sabot slug (not that I plan to use them – just thought I would throw that in the mix)?

Has anyone ever tried the rifled slug choke as an all purpose choke? What are your experiences?

Harry,