Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Need Help. Huge Fps Spread.

Just loaded with my bnew 650 XL and was able to chrono the various loads I made. I noticed huge spreads on my reloads, something like 90 fps from the lowest to the highest.

Borrowed 6 rounds from my buddy which he loads himself and got only 13 fps spread.

Just FYI, I'm a noob at reloading. My platform is not bolted to the flooring, it moves a little on the down and up stroke. Another problem that may cause my spread is that I only use the fail safe rod, I have not installed a spring that attaches to the powder bar.

Hope you guys can help me troubleshoot the problem. Thanks in advance

There are quite a few things that could cause a wide velocity spread.

Make sure the powder charges are consistent.

Take 10 rounds from a loaded batch, pull the bullets and weigh the charges.

If they vary more than +/- .1 grain, that may be part of your problem.

Second, with a dial caliper check your O.A.L.

In my experience, it will naturally float about +/- .003

This is normal and will not make much difference in the ballistics.

I have never noticed any meaningful difference in velocity until the length changes by at least .010"

Take a loaded round and check the length. Press the nose of the bullet hard against a rigid surface and recheck the length.

If the bullet has moved you do not have enough case tension to secure the bullet.

This can cause a round to move deeper into the case when it hits the feed ramp.

Check the length of your brass.

If you're using range brass the length can vary quite a bit.

This can cause the crimp to have more or less bite on the bullet causing a variance in bullet tension.

That can translate into a corresponding change in the internal pressures when the round is fired.

There are a number of other things you can look at but these would be what I would check first.

You might also try experimenting with different powders.