Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Hopping To Get Back Into Comp

ZoomZoom

I just ran across an older .38 super in nice shape that's set up like my guns were back in the day [late 80's].....Bo-mars, comp, ambi saftey, etc.

With the comp, I'll have to shoot Open right? But is there a class these days for comp guns with open sights or will I need to install optics on it?

Edited by ZoomZoom

I just ran across an older .38 super in nice shape that's set up like my guns were back in the day [late 80's].....Bo-mars, comp, ambi saftey, etc.

With the comp, I'll have to shoot Open right? But is there a class these days for comp guns with open sights or will I need to install optics on it?

Yeah, you'll be in Open. The supers today hold around 28 rounds with extended magazines. Plus, they have C-More red dot sights. You might a little out-gunned with your old rig, but just go have fun and see what's out there.

I started shooting 17 years ago, so I know what kind of guns you're talking about. I'm shooting in Production myself. Just a Glock-17 with a Vanek trigger, metal sights and some skateboard tape. I'm having more fun now than ever.

Wecome back!

Edited by BlackSabbath

If you are talking USPSA. you are in the open division against hi-cap 38/9's with optics. No other place for a comp gun in that game. Go take a look at the USPSA website (www.uspsa.org) and click "rules"

Later,

Chuck

It just seems a shame that all those "developmental" pistols, like any with a comp, regardless of caliber, all being singlestack, are not competitive in any class without extensive mods and then it is a maybe, not for certain..sure you can shoot steel with them, but ....

:(

Or you can drop $400 on a hicap frame and get it fitted up. That's what happened to almost all the old single-stack raceguns in Super I know of. A few are still around as single-stack steel guns or nostalgia pieces.