Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Rex-0

Daude

Found a new interesting powder that I really like. It is Rex-0 from Hungary. It is a dull gray flake powder that works very well for both .45 and .40 cal. As a chemist I love to tinker with my loads but I pretty much have stopped tinkering once I started using this stuff. It is clean and accurate and a little goes a very long way. I use 3.6 gr in my 230 gr lead round noses to make major PF . It works well behing a 147 Berry Plated in my son's CZ as well but he still prefers 4756. Rex-0 is sold in 1kilo cans and I have been loading all year out of the same can that I bought in Lubbock at an IDPA regional. I tried Rex-0 with some 185gr RNHB Berry plated but I got a lot of debris peppering me. Recoil on the 230 loads is soft.

Found a new interesting powder that I really like. It is Rex-0 from Hungary. It is a dull gray flake powder that works very well for both .45 and .40 cal. As a chemist I love to tinker with my loads but I pretty much have stopped tinkering once I started using this stuff. It is clean and accurate and a little goes a very long way. I use 3.6 gr in my 230 gr lead round noses to make major PF . It works well behing a 147 Berry Plated in my son's CZ as well but he still prefers 4756. Rex-0 is sold in 1kilo cans and I have been loading all year out of the same can that I bought in Lubbock at an IDPA regional. I tried Rex-0 with some 185gr RNHB Berry plated but I got a lot of debris peppering me. Recoil on the 230 loads is soft.

REX-0, aka Rex24 or Rex "Azure-blue" is the most fast-burning Rex powder. Here in Italy we use Rex powders a lot, but near anyone uses the Rex-0, especially for the 40 S&W caliber. We cosiders it too fast, even for .45 ACP.

But, to be honest, I've not tested it personally.

• 10 months later...