Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Revolver splits

George D

Well I am a revolver shooter but don't really know what the "standard" split times for revolver shooters are?  I do know that my regular split times with most of my revolvers are between 0.16 and 0.19 of a sec.

Thanks for the replies guys.

From where I stand those times are much-more-than-decent-approaching-awesome. Although I've been shooting DA revolver for 7 years I've only tried shooting fast splits once, at 7 yards, but acheived only high 20's. Given the long trigger pull on a revolver compared to an auto, your times are very impressive.

George D:

Ah, but you didn't ask if I hit anything, lol. The revolver that I use is a DA only K-frame with an old action job by Ron Power. He shortend the stroke considerably and the hammer only falls hard enough to ignite the softest of primers such as Federals. BTW, my splits with a 1911 regularly run .14 in hose mode so .18 does seem slow.

"so .18 does seem slow". ??  GIVE ME A BREAK!!!

I have a K-frame heavy slab-barrel fully customised by Peter Muscat including a short stroke hammer but, as I said, high 20's is the best I could manage. I guess I'm struggling to make "pathetic" class.

P.S. Did you hit anything?

My usual revolvers are a 627PC (8 shot) or one of my 625's (3" or 5").   I found my splits were the same wether I shot 38's or 45's.  My usuall times with my autos are 0.13-0.15 of a sec so I am not too far off.

GeorgeD:

No I didn't hit a darn thing. When I first started in this game I thought .13 splits were beyond my reach and a sub-one second draw was a fantasy. I also thought drawing, firing, reloading, and firing again in 2 seconds was impossible. I even thought a sub five second El Pres. was impossible. Boy was I wrong, I have accomplished all of those goals. Might seem like BS to you right now, but someday... :-)

Ron,