Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Smoking Between Stages

glock17w

try the gum. It's awesome!

I'm a nurse and I took care of this guy yesterday who quit smoking many years ago...but has been chewing nicorette gum every since! His doc seems to think that chewing nicotene is better than smoking it.

I've heard it said that if you hold your breath during a stage if will affect your vision. I would think that if you could oxygenate better (no smoking) you should be able to see better.

smoking cannot be good for you, either between stages or at all..however, as adults, we are free to make that decision if we want to..

I enjoy a good cigar sometimes, but not during the matches...it distracted me..

When I used to smoke, I smoked AFTER running a stage. Do by honest I can not tell if it made much of a difference either way. I think the reality of it is that a LOT of shooters don't even breathe during a stage. I know that on short and medium stages I dont. Heck .. even 10-15 seconds while moving at full speed and shooting at things, its like 5 to 6 breaths at a normal pace which is not a length of time during which you will notice holding your breath nevermind actually changing the oxygenation of your blood stream. May or may not be the right thing to do.

I'm however glad quit (using the patch) which I've done partially because breathing does make a LARGE difference in rifle shooting and I wanted to get better and partially because I got to the point where smoking was no longer fun. Also, I think it is more polite towards your squad mates.

Vlad

Edited by Vlad

I smoke before, during, and after stages. I've seen no difference whatsoever regardless of what I do.

For a while there I was treating the smoke as a talisman, requiring a certain brand that was smoked down to a certain length before LAMR. Now I smoke during a stage if I happen to have one lit, but otherwise I don't.