Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Progression to Mastery

ColoradoNick

I started shooting pistols in November of 2022 with the intent of a new hobby with my wife. We have a toddler and there’s a range a couple blocks from my in-laws who happen to be great babysitters. It started with taking the run of the mill pistol classes. From there we got introduced to bowling pin shoots and eventually USPSA. I shot my first match in February of this year. Since then I’ve averaged about 4 matches a month. My goal is to make Master within 12 months of my first match. The wife isn’t as excited about USPSA but still enjoys pin shoots. I plan on using this thread to document my training/progression and mistakes I learned from along the way. I’m blessed to live in the Denver area where it seems like there’s at least 2-3 matches a week. 

Since my first match in February to now I’ve learned a great deal and feel fairly confident about what I’m doing. I’m shooting in Carry Optics with a Shadow 2. Initially when I set out my focus was accuracy and I had a short term goal of shooting an all alpha stage. I was able to accomplish that fairly quickly with an average time and then moved my focus to stage planning (or speed) and limiting unnecessary movements. I’ve almost went too far the other way now and I noticed my accuracy was starting to suffer on classifiers. Mostly my grip. For a little while I had a real problem with not shooting No Shoots too 😂. I’ve had a few top 10 overall matches but mostly because of the run and gun stages. I generally have struggled on the classifiers that focus more on core fundamentals. Either trying to go too fast or making stupid mistakes like hitting steel but it not falling and not even noticing it didn’t fall.