Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

IDPA 5x5 going all wrong

eboos

I just started shooting IDPA this year after being away from shooting sports entirely since the Area 7 UPSPA championship in 2017. I needed to do a classifier so I could register for regionals. Using a new slide and SRO on my G34, I shot it for the first time on Wednesday and did a practice 5x5. Having never done one before, and having never practiced Bill Drills, I shot a respectable raw time of 20:03 although I dropped 10 shots for a 30:03 score. I didn't sweat it though as I was sure that I would do much better after Sunday's match. I was wrong!

Being only my second IDPA match, I was struggling with the lack of rigidity in my holster (Bladetech Classic w/Techlock and NexBelt, Bladetech mag pouches), but I was also surprisingly having trouble finding the dot. This wasn't a problem previously during dryfire, but on Sunday I just wasn't presenting to target very well at all. Times were slow but accuracy was mostly there. In all but two stages I maybe dropped one or two shots, but the two stages where I messed up I really messed up. After the match and clean up it was time to record a classifier.