Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

2011 slide not going into battery

dth122

I'm having a problem after the final assembly of a new 2011 build using a Rogue Tactical barrel, slide and frame.  I tried contacting RT but it seems they're not in business anymore..???

The problem is that after being assembled, the slide does not go fully into battery.  It looks like the barrel is locking up but the slide is stopping about 0.5" early.  Needless to say, after removing the slide stop pin everything moves freely and I can't feel any hang-ups around that area of travel.

My question is what to do to troubleshoot and fix.  Normally, I would look at how the lugs are cut.  But in this case, it's one of their primed "ez-fit" barrels that has pre-timed lugs that don't require fitting (per the installation info).  It uses fitment pads at the top of the hood instead.  I could start filing the fitment pads but am hesitant since I already have good lockup.

This is my first time using one of these barrels so I'm not sure how to proceed.  I'm open to any advice.

- Dave

Well, the first think you will learn is that all 'prefit bottom lugs' is sometimes a bogus claim.    I ordered two Ed Brown 1911 45 drop in barrels and I would have had to take a lot off the bottom lugs to get them to work.  They went back.  I bought a Nowlin drop in 9mm barrel and ended up complety refitting the bottom lug.