Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Hearing protection

Revofan

I work construction for a living and threw out the 25+ yrs of noise and shooting sports as I age my hearing is getting more sensitive I cannot shoot my open gun without pain/discomfort/ringing I use custom made molded ear plugs and still have to wear some muffs over them to not feel that way 
I’m looking for a good set of muffs so i don’t have to double up ? 

any ideas would be great 

i like the pro ears 300.  they go over your ears (vs sitting on like the leights) and are comfortable and relatively quiet.  i have no need to double up whether shooting my open gun or ar15 (or hunting rifles with brakes etc).

IAW my ear doctor,, plugs arnt as good as muffs, despite the noise rating. He said the muffs block noise from around the ear as well as the canal. 
I am marine engineer, wear muffs daily. I only use the wire framed 3m muffs. They hold together longer and dont stick out like alot of plastic framed ones. Depending on boat I use different NRR ratings.
I have been using the 95's for rimfire and light loads.. which is most of my shooting.
I liked the 105's back when I was RO for USPSA,, Id still tend to plug and muff for open guys. The 105's do get hotter and are bulkier than the 95's... They also have a 98 which splits the difference evidently.
Have ZERO use for electronic doodad gadgets.. Wanna talk to me speak up.
https://www.3m.com/3M/en_US/p/d/v000062872/

https://www.3m.com/3M/en_US/p/d/v000062875/

https://www.3m.com/3M/en_US/p/d/b00037399/

I'm not an ENT or audiologist, but I've had ongoing issues with my ears and have seen several medical professionals about it. The consensus is simple, if you care about the health of your ears and plan to do shooting long term, you NEED to double up on hearing protection. It sucks, it's uncomfortable, it's inconvenient- but tinnitus and progressive hearing loss are much more so. Dont screw around with your hearing. Double up.