Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

All 9mm Failing Plunk Test and Gauge Checker

Orion1

Hi, I am new to reloading. All (but one) of my 9mm is failing both the "plunk and turn" test and the case gauge checker test. I have not installed the primer nor the powder.

One round has passed the "plunk and turn" test and case gauge checker, however I didn't write down what I did that allowed it to pass. Not sure if its the press now..

The setup:

Dillon 550B Reloading Press

Dillon 9mm Carbide Reloading Dies 14406

KKM 1:32 Match Grade Barrel 

EGW 7 Bullet Case Gauge Checker

The Components:

Brazos 115gr bullets in 0.356"

Starline or Federal brass, once fired

The Process:

1. Brass is inspected and cleaned 
  2. Pre-sizing
    1. Brass passes the case gauge checker without sizing
  3. Re-sizing
    1. Brass passes the case gauge checker and can be dropped/turned inside the gun barrel
    2. Brass measures 0.377" at the head and ~0.387" at the bottom
      1. Was thinking the bottom "bulge" was the issue, however after putting brass through the resizing stage, I would test it via the case gauge checker / barrel turn test and it passes. 
  4. Expansion
    1. The brass mouth is expanded properly so a bullet can be seated with minimal bell shape
  5. Seat
    1. The bullet is seated in the brass mouth. There are no burrs, noticeable signs of crooked bullet placement
    2. OAL is ~1.128. 
  6. Taper Crimp
    1. Crimp is applied and measures 0.376" to 0.377"
    2. OAL is ~1.128. 
  7. Plunk Test / Case Gauge Checker
    1. Fails. The round sticks slightly outside of the barrel or case gauge.

Other Tests:

• I've also used just brass and no bullet going through the same process (no bullet is seated) steps 2 through 7 and it passes.
    • I'm thinking the issue is with the seating die, so I repeated steps 2:7 testing various seating parameters. I've seated bullets from 1.1 to 1.38. All fail.