Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Smith and Wesson skipping cylinders

DesertTortoise

I am new to revolvers. I have a smith and wesson m1917 in .45 ACP made in 1918. In dry fire, I noticed that when the trigger is pulled quickly in double action, the cylinder will skip chambers (for example making a full rotation in 4 trigger pulls instead of 6).

This does not happen in single action or if the trigger is pulled slowly in double action.

I have read that this is caused by the cylinder stop not engaging on the notches. I removed the side plate and saw that there is no debris or old grease obstructing the cylinder stop and that the spring appears to be intact. I did not fully disassemble the revolver. 

Any recommendations on how to troubleshoot? 

Screenshot_20221105_174314.thumb.jpg.132e40d9b3cccf532d8dab061c779229.jpg

Screenshot_20221105_174249.thumb.jpg.d8e1e49edf1e33a5771f9c2974d1e546.jpg

Edited by DesertTortoise

That is often caused by burrs that get raised on the edges of the cylinder notches. When the cylinder is cycled quickly, the burr will make the cylinder stop bounce down just long enough for the notch to pass by.

You want to peen that material back down where it came from, not file it off. For the flat side, you can use a flat ended punch and hammer to carefully push the burr back down. For the ramp side, you can use the side of a 5/16 steel rod to tap the burr down. That will also tighten up the fit of the cylinder stop in the notch. This is normal maintenance on a revolver that has been shot a lot.

On 11/5/2022 at 7:38 PM, Toolguy said:

That is often caused by burrs that get raised on the edges of the cylinder notches. When the cylinder is cycled quickly, the burr will make the cylinder stop bounce down just long enough for the notch to pass by.