Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Red dot suggestions

JPatters

I am considering purchasing a red dot for USPSA. I had another thread on this forum where several posts suggested I put a red dot on my X5 Legion and shoot CO instead of production or Limited. I am new to USPSA.  I typically have trouble finding and tracking the dot when I am trying to go fast. I am told I need to practice and do dry fire drills. 

My question is if I want to got CO with the Legion, which RDS should I go with. I would like a large FOV.  I have a p320 M18 with a Sig Romeo 1 pro and that is what I used when I was having trouble finding and tracking the dot. Based on that, any suggestions for a red dot on the Legion?  I have looked at the new large optics (romeo3xl and max)from Sig as well well as the Trijicon SRO. The other idea is to forget the optic for now and just shoot limited. Thank you. 

Just shoot limited and dont worry about it.  You will get classed based on your score with that gun and ammo,  so really it doesnt matter that you would be scored minor until you get up to grandmaster unless you are really worried about your overall placement. It DOESNT MATTER .  Have no idea why these people are worrying you about this. 
You shoot a classifier with a score of 70% with 9mm ammo,,, you will be shooting against people that score a 70% with major ammo.  They will shoot a few more points, you will be a bit faster.
Put whatever funnels you want, go load to capacity dont worry about the dot if you dont want to. when you start losing by 1%  you can look towards a 40 limited gun, CO, or Open.  But really until then it doesnt matter.

Anywho,, I am putting a Burris FF IV on my Steel challenge open gun I am putting together.

If I was looking to spend some money and do carryops and didn't already have something else lying around, I would buy once  and cry once and just get a trugicon SRO.