Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Production or Limited for new competitors

JPatters

I am just starting in USPSA. I have a P320 Xfive Legion that is approved for production if I remove the magwell. Trying to decide if I should compete in Production class or do Limited as it allows a fill magazine. Any thoughts on that?  I am not good at all and trying to get better. Right now my main problem is speed. Thank you. 

You will hear from many that you should be in Production to be "competitive" due your pistol being scored as 9mm minor - in Limited it is somewhat penalized. But just starting out it really doesn't matter if you are "competitive" or not..... have fun.

I'd suggest shooting Limited (even as minor) because you can just get used to shooting, moving, your stage plans will be much easier, and you can just have fun.

After you get the hang of things decide if A fudgecicle nobody but a few crayon chewers and winder likkers want is where you want to stay, or give Production (or Carry Optics) a shot. 

Whatever you do just show up and get started.... the first few times scores will not matter, just pay attention and be a sponge. And be safe. Oh, and don't forget to have fun.

Every time someone writes Limited "Minor" without the quotation marks it transcribes (A fudgecicle nobody but a few crayon chewers and winder likkers want”) in its place once you submit the reply.

Because some feel shooting Limited "Minor" is stupid.

Edited by Boomstick303

I have a P320 M18 with a Sig Red dot on it. I shoot that very accurately when I have all the time in the world. I tried a match with it ( first USPSA match) and I was so slow because I couldn’t find the dot and was fishing for it. So I thought try iron sight with a bigger heavier gun might help.