Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

CZ mags - do people use them?

Tabasco

Hey everyone, question for folks.  So when everyone posts about mags, it is about Mec-gar.  Are the CZ mags okay as well?

Going to be shooting CO and was going to pick up some extended base pads and gram spring and followers for the two stock CZ mags I have then get 3 Mec-gars.  But should I just pick up 5 Mec-gars?

Thanks for reading what feels like a silly question.

I just started playing around with a CZ S2, and I think it has to do with the round count/length of the stock CZ mags.  To get 23 + 1 with existing mag extensions, requires the Mec-Gar mags with extensions to be within 140mm.  It was used and came with Mec-gar mags with extensions to where I can get 23+1.  None of the CZ mags had extensions.  

From the little research I did on the forum it lines up with what I said above.  Maybe someone makes mag extensions to get the stock CZ mags to 23+1 and measure less than 140mm, but I have not read that anywhere.   

I had the same question.

Edited by Boomstick303

Most of the extensions out there are designed to make 140mm with the mecgar mags, not the CZ factory ones.

If you plan to use extended base pads, get mec gar tubes.

Grams springs and followers in CZ magazines (no extended base pad) will get you 20 rounds capacity. 

Edited by DesertTortoise

17 hours ago, Tabasco said:

Hey everyone, question for folks.  So when everyone posts about mags, it is about Mec-gar.  Are the CZ mags okay as well?

Going to be shooting CO and was going to pick up some extended base pads and gram spring and followers for the two stock CZ mags I have then get 3 Mec-gars.  But should I just pick up 5 Mec-gars?

Thanks for reading what feels like a silly question.