Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

125 PF Off the Shelf Ammo

Flea

I'm not sure if this is the right place for this post. Anyway, do you have a recommendations for 125PF ammo that reliably passes chrono in a G34? I'm a novice to all this and don't know if one needs to err on the high side and get a PF a fair bit above the minor floor. I shot Federal Syntech 150g 9mm and it chronoed at 145. Federal and Precision Delta are in the 135 range, at least what it says on the box or website.

Thanks

The only way to find out is to chrono ammo out of your gun.  What works in mine may/will not work in yours.

When I run factory, it's CCI Blazer Brass 124gr, Federal American Eagle 124 and 147 out of my gun.

Don't play the game at or close to 125pf it will bite you, I run 137pf never been bitten.

I was doing chrono at a major IDPA match and a gentleman, from  Idaho,  passed chrono on the last shot, his pf was 125001.  I sought him out to let him know and said use a bigger shovel for the powder.  A year later at a State match that I was working, he saw me and thanked  me.

What you're going to run into is that most ammo is going to be Chronoed out of a 4-in barrel. You're five plus inch barrel is going to give you higher velocities. If you want to hit that sweet spot of about 130 power factor you're going to need to reload.

My carryops rig has a 5+ inch barrel as well, and factory ammo that I have chrono'd all ends up being 140 plus power factor. There's a huge difference in feel between 141 and my 131 power factor reloads. Good luck

3 minutes ago, Flea said:

I was afraid you guys would say what you said. Is there reasons why no factory ammo guys produces 132ish PF out of 5" barrel?

I would guess it would be so that the ammo would work in all guns. Sometimes you start getting the power factor low and you might have to change the spring rate for reliability, but ammo manufacturers want their ammo to work in the most guns possible

20 minutes ago, RJH said: