Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Adventures of a complete beginner in USPSA

crg

Hi I'm Corey, and I'm a PhD student in control engineering. I mention this only because to some extent my engineering background has shaped the way I look at things and approach problems, as may become apparent. I don't know if anyone actually reads these things so the goal is mostly to document my venture into USPSA for my own purposes, and all the better if this helps anyone else down the road.

Some background on myself: I bought my first handgun about three years ago and have shot a total of maybe 1200 rounds casually at a nearby range since then. This range doesn't allow movement, drawing from a holster, or firing more rapidly than once every three seconds. Last year I started to get bored of just statically shooting at paper 10 yards away and decided some form of competition may be more interesting. USPSA looked fun and my very supportive wife bought me Charlie Perez's book for Christmas, so naturally  after reading through it once I was ready to jump right into a match with absolutely zero experience performing any of the skills required. In the immortal words of Jeremy Clarkson, "how hard can it be?"

About two weeks ago a new belt, some mag pouches, and a training book by Ben Stoeger came in and I started doing the level one dry fire drills recommended. Last Saturday I shot my first match and completed it without getting disqualified, which I consider to be a great personal success. I was, however, slow as molasses and not even very accurate despite that. I shot a completely stock P320 X5 (the pre-Legion version) in Limited as recommended by the match director so I could focus less on reloads and more on safety. I deliberately took it pretty easy to avoid tripping over myself or breaking 180, two things I was legitimately nervous about.

So with about two weeks of dryfire and a match under my belt, here's my initial thoughts: