Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Gen5 Barrel Bulge/Warp

Reds_Dot

I have a G17 Gen5 that I have been shooting in Carry Optics since November of 2020. I have right around 14k rounds on it. 

It is stock aside from the optic-cut. I mean stock. Stock RSA, stock trigger, stock striker/striker spring, stock extractor, etc....

I recently started having unusual feeding issues and jams. This weekend the slide started locking back (past where the slide-stop makes contact) on every shot. After taking it home I discovered there was a subtle but significant bulge in the barrel. There are no obstructions. I've never had a squib or double charge and typically they result in more severe damage. This gun has lived on 132-135pf 147gr ammo it's whole life. 

I have an email out to Glock to see what they say. I was curious if anyone here has had a similar experience. I have 3 Gen 4 Glocks with well over 50k rounds each that have lived similar lives with no issues so this was a bit of a stunner to me. Screenshot_20220213-220400_Gallery.thumb.jpg.2b8ac6082a514f6a58a132e0f7c37941.jpgScreenshot_20220213-220249_Gallery.thumb.jpg.d9dfc8ce0fe3f99fd08506531a08e2ab.jpg

If it's bulged you have had a squib at some point. Or some other barrel obstruction. If you look on the inside you can probably see what has happened.

Edited by AHI