Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Pull Weight Seems High on New P80 Build, Where Did I Go Wrong???

EngineerEli

I have done a lot of searching but have not been able to find the culprit. If I missed an obvious post please feel free to link me.

Anyway, I was looking for something fun this winter so I decided to do a P80 build. I went with a full size G17 style. This is my first Glock (style) gun because I never liked the grip, the P80 being closer to 1911 grip angle is much better, but the front of the grip is still a little square. For that reason, I'm still learning the trigger system, and what areas are the most critical to trigger pull. I admit, I tried to minimize costs, so there is a chance the reason for my issues is cheap parts, but I would think bending, filing, sanding, and polishing can overcome most deficiencies. Heck, I have $250 DBFS9 that I did a trigger job on and it's quite satisfying. I did go threaded barrel in case I decide to mess around with a comp and go open with it, but for now its just a fun project / experiment / learning experience.

With this build the lowest I have been able to get the trigger pull is about 7 lb 3oz. It does drop down a little lower with the slide lock removed... From my research this set up should be yielding a 4-5 lb pull I thought... Also if I remove the slide and pull the trigger forward, just before the trigger safety engages, then let it return slowly, I can still feel gritty ness, and it gets hung up. Does not make it all the way back on its own, when I pull the trigger it moves back about another 1-2 mm.

Parts and actions taken:

- Unbranded parts kit, in P80 FS940V2 Frame Stainless slide

- 4 Lb Striker Spring

- 6 Lb trigger spring, also trying the stock one with the kit, which actually feels better than the 6...

- Reduced FPB spring

- Polished FPB

- Polished trigger bar (crusaform?)

- Polished striker

- Polished disco

- Polished right side rear frame rail section that sandwiches the trigger bar