Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Best/most accurate bullseye accurate reloading dies for .45acp and 9mm on Forster single stage Co-Ax press

wanttolearn

Hi,

i've been reloading long range rifle ammunition for a few years now.

I would like to try my hand at reloading pistol ammunition, primarily 9mm and .45acp for the range. My intent is for tight little groups on paper....(no run and gun, no self defense or hunting). (i didn't want to post the same query on both the 9mm and the .45acp sections).

I have a Forster Co-Ax single stage press.

I'm not sure which brands/models of dies to invest in, there are so many to choose from.

I would prefer to keep prices below $150 for a single caliber set...unless you feel that that's insufficient, then i would consider higher priced sets if need be.

thank you

Hate to burst your bubble. Have used most every brand of dies to load. For "Bullseye" competition. Every one of them will produce ammo.That will put 10 shots inside 1 inch at 50 yards.   It really comes down to bullet quality first.  Powder charge second. cases third. All this assumes you have a gun/barrel capable of such accuracy.

From a High Master NRA/CMP   Precision Pistol. Triple Distinguished also.

Currently use Redding pro series dies. With modified seater . 

I appreciate the response, thank you

it's great to hear that there are many suitable options

with respect to the seater modification, was this something that you could effect like a simple polishing or was it something that required factory intervention?

I agree with the above, most brands dies will be able to produce quality ammunition if there is no defect with them.

For smoothness and overall quality I prefer Redding (TIC) and I also like the Lee U dies en Lee factory crimp for reliability. The Hornady TiN coated sizer is also nice.

• 2 months later...