Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Looking for dry fire training advice

bnchief

I have a stacatto xl gen 2 gun i shoot uspsa limited with it i want to use uspsa targets , idpa targets, i am looking for something that will measure my draw time as well as show where i am hitting such as a camera system .   I know i would have to rack the slide each time as well as use a laser trainer (which type) i am new to this so really have no experience with dry fire training.  I have shot idpa for a couple seasons i am 70  so i am not going to beat young guys but accuracy is important.

Edited by bnchief

My advice is to skip the camera/system that shows you where you are hitting.  This is useless without recoil in my honest opinion and you're better off working on that part at the range with actual ammo.  For timing your draw, get a shot timer and use the part time feature on it.  You'll need the timer for live fire anyways.  I would not worry too much about the actual trigger pull in dry fire, rack the slide each time off the draw then simulate pulling the trigger, on the dead trigger.  This is sufficient for dry fire.  The key as always is to break the live hammer shot as well as the simulated trigger pulls without disturbing the sights.  This means you can't lie to yourself as you don't have an actual bullet to confirm your hit, make sure you're actually pulling the trigger correctly.

Your main goal for dryfire should really be to work on everything but the actual shot itself... draw, transitions onto open/partial targets,  basic movements, etc. 

As far as dry fire material. 

If you want a book that is geared towards raising your classification, get the Steve Anderson book.