Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Sighting red dot

Brandon1887

11 hours ago, Brandon1887 said:

I just bought a holosun 507k for my G43x. My question is what’s the best way to sight it in? I’m new to red dots. I’ve always just used my iron sights but I just jumped on the red dot train to give it a try. Any help will be appreciated 

What exactly do you need to know?  How to move the point of impact to match point of aim?  What distance to zero it?

Have you ever zeroed any other sort of optical sight?

Please be more specific.

7 minutes ago, Brandon1887 said:

Sorry ab that. I know how to move the point of impact I’m just wondering once I shoot ab 3 rounds to see where they go where do I go from there?

I don't want to be unkind but maybe you need a different hobby.

Get yourself a nice solid rest of some kind.   Put up a target about 15-20 yards downrange.   Carefully squeeze off a few rounds into the the target (say 3-5 rounds).   Adjust the dot accordingly.   Repeat as necessary.   Once the rounds are impacting more or less in a cluster around your point of aim, you are sighted in. 

34 minutes ago, Brandon1887 said:

I know how to move the point of impact I’m just wondering once I shoot ab 3 rounds to see where they go where do I go from there?

How can you say that you know how to move the point of impact if you have to ask "once I shoot ab 3 rounds to see where they go where do I go from there?"

24 minutes ago, NETim said:

Get yourself a nice solid rest of some kind.   Put up a target about 15-20 yards downrange.   Carefully squeeze off a few rounds into the the target (say 3-5 rounds).   Adjust the dot accordingly.   Repeat as necessary.   Once the rounds are impacting more or less in a cluster around your point of aim, you are sighted in. 

Thanks bro

13 hours ago, Brandon1887 said:

Any help will be appreciated 

Personally I would only shoot off a rest to get the dot fine "tuned" at your chosen distance for zero (15 or 20 yards).