Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Hate that I had to DQ this shooter

UpYoursPal

Recently I worked as an RO for a level II match.  It was my first time working a major match so I was a little nervous, but at this point I had been an RO for about a year and a half and had run shooters at dozens of local matches.  The other two folks I worked with were certified CROs, so I knew that if I had a rules question I could go to them and get a solid answer.

On the day after staff day, I report to the stage that I'm going to work for the weekend.  It's an unloaded start with the gun on one table, and the first loading device to be used on the second table.  This meant that, essentially, you only had to put your first magazine or moon clip on the opposite table, but any others could be loaded from your belt.  The stage also had three shooting areas: left, center, and right, with the two tables straddling the center shooting area.  What most shooters did was grab the gun off the right table, the magazine off the left table, then run to the left box while loading.

I think you can see where this is going already.

We cycled through a few shooters from the first squad of the day without incident.  A CO shooter stepped up to the line, place his X5 Legion on the table, and his magazine on the other table.  I was standing on the far left side - behind the rear fault line, but close enough that I could see 180 breaks without endangering myself.  One thing I noticed was that his hands were shaking just a little bit, which is normal.  After all, it was the first stage of the day at a major match, and some jitters are normal.