Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

DQ for this AD?

mpmo

Good afternoon fine people of the internets.  Had an issue I wasn't sure about come up this weekend.  Background, I'm not an RO, but happy to play one when needed.  I'm pretty new to the sport, been about 18 months.  This happened at a USPSA match.

I'm 2nd RO on the score pad.  Timer goes off, competitor draws and has an AD on his way to a target.  Both the Timer RO and I determined in the moment that it was farther than 10ft from himself and the RO and did not stop the competitor.  After he was done, Timer RO asks me to confirm I felt it was 10ft, and I said yes.  Competitor said it actually happened with the trigger finger of his weak hand and didn't know how that happened.  Sounds like he just got a super funky grip off the draw to freestyle.  

The place i wasn't sure, was that I didn't feel like he was aimed at a target when he discharged.  I mentioned that and he said he was, and there was a target 10ft in front of where he discharged.  I don't feel like 10.4.1 applies which has the part about firing at a target as the ground is not considered an unsafe direction.  

Just to reiterate, we did not stop the competitor nor DQ after the fact.  I think we did the right thing by my reading but just wanted to make sure.

Thanks!

Edited by mpmo

49 minutes ago, mpmo said:

The place i wasn't sure, was that I didn't feel like he was aimed at a target when he discharged.

That's one of the things I look for closely during shooter movement.

If the gun goes off and it isn't in a position that any reasonable person would use to aim and pointed in the general direction of actual targets................it's a DQ under 10.4.6

I break things like this down in two different ways depending on what position I am in.