Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Grip Strength...

NotAnAddict

Hello, I have been doing some research on Atlas Gunworks for a potential 2011. The various videos mentioned that certain models perform better within a particular range of grip pressure. How does one evaluate grip strength when holding a pistol? Additionally, do any of you do anything to improve your grip strength or do you just shoot and gain strength as you go?

Thanks for your help.

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I use the captains of crush grippers and rubber bands. I kept them on my desk and use them occasionally throughout the day.

The test strength they my grip strength devices that measure how many pounds you can pull. None of these are very expensive given what an Atlas Costs.

20 hours ago, NotAnAddict said:

The various videos mentioned that certain models perform better within a particular range of grip pressure.

Sounds like nonsense. 

Grip the s#!t out of it with your support hand.  Grip it just hard enough with your strong hand so you can freely work the trigger.  Get stronger hands.

It's simple don't over think it.

I think it has more to do with grip technique than strength. I don't see myself as an overly strong dude, but the gun doesn't move much in my hands. 
I've seen big meat heads at the range struggling to control a 9mm. 
One of the most important things is getting as much meat of your left hand onto the gun as possible.

3 hours ago, StefVanHauwe said:

21 hours ago, Intheshaw1 said:

I use the captains of crush grippers and rubber bands. I kept them on my desk and use them occasionally throughout the day.

The test strength they my grip strength devices that measure how many pounds you can pull. None of these are very expensive given what an Atlas Costs.