Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Thoughts on Steve Anderson Products/ Training

Skeeter44

Im fairly new to the USPSA side of comp shooting (making the transition from PRS) and have come across a few of his books. I would love to go to a class but there arent any that are reasonably close.

Has anyone here purchased his books or taken any of his classes? He seems like an awesome guy and was just curious as to what y'alls thoughts were...

can't speak on the class, although I have had classes from ben stoeger, tim herron and charlie perez that were all EXTREMELY valuable in my learning curve.

I think steve's books are good (his 3rd one is *really* good), but I think for me personally his focus on always trying to be faster faster faster led to some sloppiness and unrealistic practice for me. I made a big step up in match performance when I stopped doing his drills by rote and started using my own brain to adapt them to my situation. That probably just means I was doing his drills wrong, lol.

IMHO, if you are just getting started, you could probably get a big jump by seeing if there's an M or GM near you that shoots the same division, and offering to pay that gay for a couple 2-hr range sessions. All the more better if it's someone you occasionally squad with at local matches who may already have an idea of your strengths and weaknesses.

Edited by motosapiens

On 9/17/2021 at 6:16 PM, motosapiens said:

can't speak on the class, although I have had classes from ben stoeger, tim herron and charlie perez that were all EXTREMELY valuable in my learning curve.

I think steve's books are good (his 3rd one is *really* good), but I think for me personally his focus on always trying to be faster faster faster led to some sloppiness and unrealistic practice for me. I made a big step up in match performance when I stopped doing his drills by rote and started using my own brain to adapt them to my situation. That probably just means I was doing his drills wrong, lol.