Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Going blind

konkapot

I've been using reading glasses for about 2 years now. 

Picked up an iron sight gun at work today and the front sight was a nice ball of nothing. 

For fun I put my reading glasses on and it made a huge difference. 

Any reason NOT to use $10 reading glasses when shooting irons?

3 minutes ago, konkapot said:

I've been using reading glasses for about 2 years now. 

Picked up an iron sight gun at work today and the front sight was a nice ball of nothing. 

For fun I put my reading glasses on and it made a huge difference. 

Any reason NOT to use $10 reading glasses when shooting irons?

Other than they probably won't be impact rated, they'll probably work.   

It has worked for me for several years now. Not bifocal glasses, full frame readers. Bifocals make you loose the sights. I put them on while setting up and by time of the match I’m use to walking around with readers on. 

With readers, you're going to have a hard time seeing targets at a distance.  Much better to get prescription glasses with lenses that are near focus for dominant eye and distance focus for the other.  I have them in transition lenses so I can use the same pair inside and outside.  Works great once you get used to it.

22 minutes ago, ltdmstr said:

With readers, you're going to have a hard time seeing targets at a distance.  Much better to get prescription glasses with lenses that are near focus for dominant eye and distance focus for the other.  I have them in transition lenses so I can use the same pair inside and outside.  Works great once you get used to it.

This is what I do also. Works good. 

Just know that that if you get a very sharp focus on either the sights or target the other one will be lacking. I found a happy medium that I like. 

1 hour ago, SteelCityShooter said: