Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What bullet gr. would you recommend for Sig X5 Legion?

Try them both. You’ll find the 125s to be snappier than the 147s. If you find yourself waiting for the slide to return with the 147s, try 135s which split the difference. I like 147s, but my buddy who shoots much faster than me uses 135s 

For softer feeling recoil, the 147's will have an advantage. 

What powder are you using? 

Try some 147's with around 3.5 grains of VV N320, at an OAL that will work in your barrel (1.150 is what I run in my Shadow 1)

On 6/19/2021 at 10:30 AM, 9mikemike said:

I’ve just started reloading. I’ve tried Hi-Teck coated 125gr and just ordered 147gr. Please share your experience with different bullet gr. and your preferred weight and brand. Thanks!

Building up your hand and forearm strength and, most importantly, learning how to correctly grip a pistol will make the weight of your bullets irrelevant.

On 6/19/2021 at 7:08 AM, 9mikemike said:

Newbie here. What is the best bullet gr. for softer recoil and less red dot displacement?

2 completely different things here, and neither is the important one. The important one is the time until the dot has settled for the next shot. This is why so many skilled and experienced shooters prefer lighter bullets (and snappier recoil) in many situations. I personally shoot 115gr in 9mm now, after years of shooting 124 and 147. The gun is simply ready to shoot again sooner. If you are concerned about dot displacement, grip your gun like a grown man and that will help.

Note also that the legion is famous for poor accuracy and tumbling with 147s. I tried some that I got for free, and they certainly tumbled in our gun, so I shot up the rest of them in my pcc. Bottom line, most people with legions run 124's.

1 hour ago, Zane1973 said: