Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Help with load data for RMR 147gr MW FP and RN in 9mm

FlyNavyP3

Greetings all! 

Although I’m not new to handloading, I am new to 9mm. With the current shortage, we’re all sourcing supplies wherever we can. That landed me with 1000 each of Rocky Mountain Reloading (RMR) 147 gr Match Winner FP and RN bullets to load for my two PCC’s.

The goal with 147 gr was to load inexpensive, fun, reliable sub-sonic ammo for use in a 16” AR-9 and an 8.5” SBR. While testing COL and plunk testing ammo in my Faxon 8.5” barrel, I had no issues at any COL with either bullet. However, in the 16” barrel, I must load the RN at 1.100” and MW FP to 1.085” to allow 0.010” of clearance to the leade. I don’t want to have ammo dedicated to a gun; that seems like a disaster waiting to happen.

Since I’m in the never-never land with no load data for these particular bullets, I’m trying to interpret other 147 gr load data for a safe starting load to work up from. Other published Data (save for Hornady XTP at 1.10”) lists a much longer COL than will chamber in my 16” barrel. I would like to use Titegroup since I have 3#, and I don’t really like it that much in my 45 ACP. However, I do have HP-38/W231 on hand in quantity. Other powders on hand Unique, Clays, Universal, Red Dot, Blue Dot, Bullseye, 296/H110, 2400. My preference is to use the Titegroup to start, but I’m open to thoughts/opinions.

Load data available:

Lyman 49th 147 TMJ @ 1.115" 3.2-3.6 Titegroup

Lyman 49th 147 Cast Lead FP @ 1.058" 2.5-2.8 Titegroup

Hodgdon Data 147 XTP @ 1.100" 3.2-3.6 Titegroup

Hodgdon Data 145 Acme RN CTD @ 1.150" 2.9-3.4 Titegroup